A-HA!

March 31, 2008 at 5:04 pm 6 comments

Before I was in Admissions, I was a Children’s Pastor. Now even if you aren’t religious, stay with me here. Once in a while, I would prepare a lesson to teach the children on let’s say, Noah’s Ark. Several times I would find myself listening to the sermon I had missed while teaching to find that the Pastor or someone during an offering meditation would refer to Noah and his many animals. I called these A-HA! moments. Because not only did my student learn about Noah, but maybe he told his mom about it on the way home and she says, “Hey, that sounds like something we heard about in the sermon.”

Enter: My TWOA-HA moments. First, I was thinking about how we can use Twitter here at FC when our Webmaster came over for our staff meeting. Lo and behold, she’s working with one of our IT guys on an FC Twitter! Then, there was a post about Twitter in my Feed Reader. Makes me feel like we’re working on something exciting!

My second A-HA! moment is going to require your help. For our state organization conference (IACAC), I am planning a session on Technology in Higher Education. Then, there was this GREAT discussion this weekend about this topic over at Matt Herzberger.com. I read this after I had volunteered to plan this session. My ideas are to cover Student Blogging, implications of FERPA when communicating via Chat, IM, etc., and… What else? What do my 5 loyal readers think? Do you know someone who would love to speak at an Indiana Conference? Would you?

Oh, and here’s a quick peek of what happens when our only male Admissions Counselor is home sick the day before April Fool’s.

0331081602.jpg

Yep, we shrink wrapped his desk.

Entry filed under: Higher Education, Technology. Tags: , , , , , , .

Facebook Friend Lists A Step Above

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bradjward  |  March 31, 2008 at 6:04 pm

    Haha, nice work!

    Are you going to be at IACAC on April 16th at Butler? I am speaking on a panel for that. If you need an extra speaker, let me know! I’d love to help out.

    Reply
  • 2. fcthendrix  |  March 31, 2008 at 6:20 pm

    Yes, I will be there and I’m excited for the session! I already had plans to ask you so I’ve put you on the list!

    Reply
  • 3. gordon  |  April 10, 2008 at 6:35 pm

    5 readers. Make it 6.

    Solid.

    Seriously though – I have questions about FC and the use of twitter. I think that using it is great – but I question the readership of it.

    Is twitter something that our students are using? Are we going to promote it? It is something that our potential students are using? What is the purpose of the “tweets” that the college will produce? Are they informational? How frequently will they post? etc. etc.

    I’m not trying to come off as negative here, I am just curious – so please don’t read my questions as offensive or rude.

    OK – that’s all I have. I hope that you are doing well over in your fancy building.

    Reply
  • 4. fcthendrix  |  April 11, 2008 at 8:40 am

    Gordon, you make a great point. Right now, Twitter use here at FC is just in infancy. Renee Kean really spearheaded the effort and now we’re just waiting. With prospective students, we haven’t yet figured out a way to really use it to our fullest advantage. Students just aren’t on board yet with Twitter, at least not prospective students. I think the college will be using it to put out tiny press releases, score updates for athletics, etc. Thanks for asking though! I love when people, not guitars, feedback. Chessy joke, I know. My husband plays guitar. I can’t help it!

    Reply
  • 5. gordon  |  April 11, 2008 at 9:42 am

    Does your husband want to buy a beautiful Fender amp?

    Reply
  • 6. fcthendrix  |  April 11, 2008 at 3:19 pm

    I am banning the purchase of all guitar equipment at my house. Actually, he has one that he loves. Thanks though!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

March 2008
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

