How to keep it all straight?

February 28, 2008 at 10:03 am 5 comments

So, this being my first real experience with all things techie, how do I keep it all straight? I have RSS Feeds (that I LOVE), my trusty Outlook Taskbar for things I need to work on, my calendar, and now two blogs (I write one for fun about my little girl). So, how do I keep it straight?

And another thing, how do I stay informed? It seems like every time I check my Feeds there are more posts with more info and more technology and services to check out. Once I’ve posted to someone’s blog, how do I remember and see if anyone has responded? Any suggestions?

Entry filed under: Technology. Tags: , , , .

First Post… On the brink of greatness…

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. fjgaylor  |  February 28, 2008 at 11:03 am

    Hey there,

    THanks for commenting earlier on our blog..

    Are you at Franklin by any chance? Just got an email..

    As far as tracking comments you can try http://www.co.mments.com and set up an account to track the comments on blogs you would like to follow.. There is also a site in beta that is invite only http://www.fav.or.it.com that is supposed to be the real deal..

    Hope that helps

    Joe

    Reply
  • 2. fcthendrix  |  February 28, 2008 at 11:07 am

    I am at FC. I was hesitant to write that at first because I wanted to see if I was going to be using this a lot. Thanks for the info! I’ll have to check them out.

    Tiffany

    Reply
  • 3. minterests  |  February 28, 2008 at 11:32 am

    Tiffany, I can identify with what you are saying! It has been a few years now since I began learning about all the wonders of Web 2.0 technology. To keep up on various blogs I use SAGE:

    http://sage.mozdev.org/

    This is a read feeder that basically shows you the RSS feeds for the blogs you choose. I find it easier and faster to read blog posts this way, but I believe your browser needs to be Firefox to use it. This is on my pc, if you prefer a web browser that does the same I believe a good number of people use bloglines:

    http://www.bloglines.com/

    Do you use Mozilla Firefox as your browser, I find that it is better than IE?

    http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/

    I also read a few blogs that help keep me up to date, you already know about one (MarkGreeenfield) but you might like this one too:

    http://theory.isthereason.com/

    I hope this info. is of some help.

    Reply
  • 4. Bradjward  |  February 29, 2008 at 1:53 pm

    2nd post and 4 comments already? Pretty awesome, haha! Nice meeting you today, I look forward to reading future confessions! Added you to my Google Reader.

    Let me know if there is ever a topic you want me to cover on my How-To Tuesday post. I’m always looking for ways to help people and get ideas on new topics!

    Brad@Butler

    Reply
  • 5. jeremywilburn  |  March 4, 2008 at 12:47 pm

    Thanks for checking out my blog! I’m interested to see if/how you decide to use Twitter. It’s always good to see more people putting technology to good use in higher education. I also added you to my google reader. I’m assuming you’re hooked up through BlogHighEd; there are a lot of excellent bloggers there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

February 2008
S M T W T F S
    Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526272829  

